Moemon Sacred Gold Part 1: New Adventure

Pokemon/Moemon Sacred Gold - Part 1 - 1

A month ago on twitter, I also started a play-through of Pokemon HeartGold with some additional changes such as the game being more balanced (update move-sets and add the fairy type) and gym leaders having six Pokemon when you challenge them.

Also, since I have played Gen IV plenty of times in the past, I want to some visually different. So, I found a Moemon patch to change all the Pokemon into cute moe girls, so I don’t get bored.


Technical Difficulties

I spent a lot of hours to get this work because it requires two patches, and I had spent time to figure out which patch had to be applied first. Moreover, the emulator (No$GBA) is garbage for Pokemon games. This is why I switch the DeSmuME emulator later.

New Update: One make sure that the HeartGold is a clean version, you then found a patch tool to implement to two patches (should be on the patches pages). The first that should be applied is Scared Gold (page) and then the Moemon patch second (page). Don’t worry about graphic glitches as those harmless in the DeSmuME emulator, just save the game and reset.


Choosing A Starter

I have fond memories with two of these starters.

Pokemon/Moemon Sacred Gold - Part 1 - 2

Obviously, Cyndaquil is the best fire starter, and nothing will change my mind.

Pokemon/Moemon Sacred Gold - Part 1 - 3

I remember using Totodile during Gen II to Ice Punch everything in my way.

Pokemon/Moemon Sacred Gold - Part 1 - 4

I am sorry if you like Chikorita, she is at best a fourth option on a Johto team.

I chose Cyndaquil because of her cute hat and named her Edana.


More Technical Difficulties

After starting the adventure, this is where crashes occurred (on the No$GBA) and spite over-world flicking (harmless, just save and reset the emulator) that lead to about 10 -15 game resets.

I wanted to kill myself because I had to repeat the tutorial section so many times. This is also why I made to jump to the DeSmuME emulator.


In-between Stuff

After an hour into the game and it not crashing, I continued the adventure with my starter to get an Egg from Mr.Pokemon, met Cynthia (I was surprised she was in the game) to get a Eevee, get the Pokedex from Oak, and beat-up my rival with an over-leveled because that’s what you do.

Went back to Elm, gave the rival his name (Silver, I like giving the rivals’ their canon name), and headed to Violet City. After a few routes and a dark cave, arrived in the city with a full team.

Checking out the gym and promptly toward to fight the Sprout Tower to have a chance to fight the gym leader. Pretty easy if you chose a fire Pokemon.


The Team

Pokemon/Moemon Sacred Gold - Part 1 - 5

Leading us off in the team against Falkner is Edana (Quilava) with a sweet Alpine Hat and Spring (Spinarak) who gets the nickname “sleep proof” because the amount of hypnosis used on her.

Pokemon/Moemon Sacred Gold - Part 1 - 6

In the middle of the pack, we Core (Corphish) whose only has one good move was Vice Grip and Clair (Clefairy) who kept missing Sing and fainted every time.

Pokemon/Moemon Sacred Gold - Part 1 - 7

In the back of the pack, we have Who (Hoothoot), who is wearing glasses but to me looks a mustache and Bronya, who is at least better than Clair and has a type resistance against the gym.

Gym Battle

Pokemon/Moemon Sacred Gold - Part 1 - 8

A true gym leader fights you with six Pokemon.

Pokemon/Moemon Sacred Gold - Part 1 - 9

This Pidgeotto is still under-leveled. Also, faced a Farfetch’d with roost that never wanted to faint.

Pokemon/Moemon Sacred Gold - Part 1 - 10

Edana, last Mon standing after half the team, fainted to the Pidgeotto.


After somehow winning the first badge, I decide for this play-through to change the team after every gym battle, so I can see all the designs of the Moemon. Now its time to head to Azalea Town.

Leave a comment